Home Home Home

UMTRI researchers recognized at Stapp Car Crash Conference

December 2, 2015

 The 59th annual Stapp Car Crash Conference was held November 9-11 in New Orleans, Louisiana. For the second year in a row, members of UMTRI’s Biosciences Group received the John Paul Stapp Best Paper Award. The winning paper, titled “Response and Tolerance of Female and/or Elderly PMHS to Lateral Impact,” was authored by Lauren (Wood) Zaseck, Carl Miller, Nathaniel Madura (formerly with UMTRI), Matthew Reed, Lawrence Schneider, Kathleen Klinich, and Jonathan Rupp
The Stapp Car Crash Conference is the premier forum for presentation of research in impact biomechanics, human injury tolerance, and related fields that advance the knowledge of land-vehicle crash injury protection. UMTRI researchers Lawrence Schneider and Jonathan Rupp are members of the Stapp Conference Advisory Committee. UMTRI’s Leda Ricci serves as Executive Director. 
UMTRI also participated in a display at the first university-sponsored reception, held on November 9 following the day’s technical sessions. The reception was hosted by five universities, including the Medical College of Wisconsin, University of Michigan Transportation Research Institute, The Ohio State Injury Biomechanics Research Center, Virginia Tech Center for Injury Biomechanics, and Wayne State University. 
Additional UMTRI attendees at this year’s Stapp Conference included associate research scientist Jingwen Hu, Yulong Wang (visiting Ph.D. student from Hunan University in Changshai, Hunan), and Jisi Tang (visiting Ph.D. student from Tsinghua University). 
Photo: From left are Jonathan Rupp, Larry Schneider, Matthew Reed, Nathaniel Madura, Carl Miller, and Lauren Wood Zaseck, authors of the John Paul Stapp Best Paper Award. Not pictured: Kathleen Klinich.