Home Home Home

Sweatman named chair of ITS America board of directors

June 5, 2012

Peter Sweatman, director of the U-M Transportation Research Institute, has been named chair of the board of directors for the Intelligent Transportation Society of America.

ITS America's board of directors represents all segments of the transportation industry and guides the strategic goals and activities of the association. Sweatman has been a member of the board of directors since 2008 and had previously served as vice-chair.

Dr. Sweatman is a national leader in intelligent transportation systems. He has previously served as a member of the USDOT ITS Program Advisory Committee (appointed by the Secretary of Transportation), chair of the ITS America Coordinating Council, and chair of the ITS America Safety Forum. He is currently a member of the board of directors for ITS Michigan.

At its meeting on May 23, the ITS America board of directors also appointed the following new members: Richard Clasby of Help, Inc.; Steven Dellenbeck of Southwest Research Institute; Link Hoewing of Verizon; Steve Kenner of Ford Motor Company; Chris Murray of Kapsch, North America; and Alice Tornquist of Qualcomm, Inc.; Jill Ingrassia of AAA, and Gerry Mooney of IBM Corporation were reappointed.

ITS America represents more than 400 member organizations including public agencies, private corporations, and academic institutions involved in the research, development, and deployment of technologies that improve safety, increase mobility, strengthen the economy, and sustain the environment.

Photo courtesy ITS International Daily News.